I think A LOT of people go into any kind of relationship with this mentality of “Perfection” and forget that we all need to remember what is “REAL”. I used to want happiness, but I learned it had to come from me first, and that my husband couldn’t give me what I was seeking to validate because of his engrained resentment towards me. I had to let alot go, including my expectations of our marriage. I’m ok right now. I’ve learned and I continue to grow, and I hope one day that I can have a real relationship and marriage to someone that challenges me and I challenge them. This is what Life is about-challenges, learning, adapting and growing. ❤

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

I became a bit incredulous yesterday when a woman on Twitter proclaimed that her marriage was “perfect” once she found a compatible partner. You see, not only do I not believe in perfection (except in the obvious exception of the first sip of hot coffee on a cold morning), I don’t trust it.

Sometimes perfection is a cover.

In many ways, my first marriage was perfect: we rarely disagreed, we shared many views and ideas and we worked together seamlessly. But underneath that facade was a husband who was playing a role and a wife too afraid to turn on the stage lights.

Sometimes perfection is a phase.

In the early stages of a relationship, it is completely normal to place your partner on a pedestal and to casually whitewash over any red flags (or even areas of discord). It’s easy to be perfect when reality hasn’t had time to…

View original post 1,256 more words

