My DEAR friend Chris at Surviving The Spector shares his very personal and raw story. It is triggering as it talks about suicide. Chris, I love you! You are an AMAZING man and father and friend! So glad to call you a friend ❤

Dear Hope

TRIGGER WARNING: This post is a transparent account of my life with clinical depression and suicide. If this is a trigger for you, please do not read it at this time.

This piece comes from my great friend, Chris, who I have made acquaintances through this website. This piece is one of the best submissions I’ve ever had. and is incredibly powerful and insightful. Lengthy, as many of the coping pieces are, but ultimately moving.


My History

My name is Chris and I’ve survived with severe depression for about 30 years.

Last year I hanged myself.

.Screen Shot 2015-07-28 at 5.21.43 PM

I was diagnosed with clinical depression several years ago.

Not the kind that makes you feel sad after your girlfriend breaks up with you, or explains why you feel under the weather when the weather is under.

No, this is much blacker than that.

Those of you who live in my world…

View original post 3,079 more words

